1 11 11 1 10

1 11 11 1 10

No it isn’t binary code. It is THE date.

January 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Two months from now, approximately 5,200 miles away from home, I will step off yet another plane and my feet will once more be in Kyiv, Ukraine.

I can hardly believe it. Am I ready for this?

Truthfully I will NEVER be ready, yet I long to be back with the university students that I love.

We chat on Facebook and leave messages but I am ready to hear laughter and give hugs again. I am even looking forward to being tortured with Russian lessons, and I’m sure friends here are ready for me to stop torturing them with the five phrases I have already mastered.

The past few weeks have been a gamut of emotions as my departure date creeps closer. Finances loom in my head but the assurity of God’s leading, His call, and His love for Ukraine stands taller. Fears of my own inadequacy whisper in my ear, but then I chat with one of my students and it erases all doubt. I wake up with a chill in the air and try to motivate myself to get out from under the warmth of my covers and wonder how in the world I will survive winter… ok so I haven’t found anything that counters this one yet.

Within the past week I was given the money needed to acquire my visa. So I am sending off my application for this very important sticker. It still seems a bit like a dream.

With a visa and a ticket to my new home that just leaves monthly support for actually living. My goal is to raise $1,150 a month to cover expenses. If you would like to support me either with a one time gift or monthly, click here for more info.

And if you come across any great deals on Under Armour please let me know, I think I’m going to make sure they stay in business at least one more year.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clinton
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 04:16:01

    Don’t worry about the Under Armor stuff; go for classic Silk long johns from REI. What kind of Visa are you applying for? Are you still in Gainesville? We should catch up sometime. Shoot me an email (clinton@clintonwhite.net).

    Reply

  2. Ms. Patti
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 04:30:20

    I seriously thought you were writing a blog in some kind of code. LOL
    YOU WERE CREATED FOR THIS PRIDGE! I am so proud of you!
    Love you girl, loved our taco bell date! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Anna BFFTOWR Coffey
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 08:30:26

    You are actually doing it! I am so proud of you! I will be praying for you and routing you on and hopefully I can come visit you sometime!

    Reply

  4. bookaddict4real
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 16:26:38

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You really have beautiful looking blog .
    I was trying to follow you through gfc before I realized you were a wordpress blog

    Reply

    • flutterbypridge
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 16:58:55

      Thank you. It is still really new and I’m working on adding and tweaking things. I hadn’t even thought of putting gfc on here until now but I will look into that.

      Reply

      • flutterbypridge
        Nov 12, 2010 @ 17:39:36

        Apparently it only works on WordPress if you have a self hosted blog… bummer, especially since I love using GCF to follow other blogs. Anyway… I wanted to also say that your blog attracted me too because I saw that you don’t review “science fiction, paranormal, or fantasy” which is refreshing because it seems that lately everything is paranormal.

Leave a Reply

Bird Attack

Bird Attack at Starbucks

Fluttering Type

