Over commit to one thing (via Leadership Freak)

I am one of those people that tend to over commit. That’s why the blog below by Dan Rockwell caught my attention and I think he makes some good points.

I agree that over commitment brings about mediocre results, at best. As for failing less, I agree that if you are failing it shouldn’t be because of not being able to juggle all the commitments you have… but I do think it is entirely different if the failure is the result of stepping out and trying something new.

On the flip side knowing that I tend to over commit I seem to swing to the opposite extreme and make no commitments to anything. Neither option is healthy.

As with all things in life, a balance needs to be found. I’m still trying to find it.

What are your thoughts on committing? Over? Under? Why? How? Etc?

Over commit to one thing “Successful people have a glaring tendency to over commit,” Marshal Goldsmith. Leaders live for opportunities. Opportunities ignite passions. As a result they may chase too many chickens at once and end up empty handed. In other words, opportunities may create over commitment. Over commitment yields mediocre results. ***** Get further by doing less not … Read More

via Leadership Freak

Leave a Reply

Bird Attack

Bird Attack at Starbucks

Fluttering Type

