Three…Two…One…

Three years ago. . .

I was an intern at the International House of Prayer in Atlanta, praying and worshiping nightly from midnight to 6 a.m. I didn’t consider myself an intercessor and many evenings wondered what God was up to asking me to be there. I was confidently unconfident,  defiantly independent and intensely imploring God for freedom from the shackles of self-injury. Face down on the floor of the prayer room I fought a battle and came away dusty from digging in the ashes but delivered.

Two years ago. . .

I was at training camp in the backwoods of Georgia with no idea how drastically life was about to change. I didn’t consider myself missionary material and didn’t even know how to set up a tent. I was terribly timid, perpetually frozen and completely convinced I was in over my head. It was a stretching week and a half that would become a mile marker in my story. When camp came to a close, I breathed a sigh of relief until I  had to attempt removal of red clay from the clothes I had been wearing for ten days.

A year ago. . .

I stumbled off a miserable platscart (3rd class) train ride and, with soil from a Romanian Gypsy village still clinging to my sneakers, I entered the country of Ukraine with no clue that God was going to use this time to alter any ideas I previously had about my future. I didn’t consider myself a social butterfly and hated large cities. I was feverishly sick, unfashionably dressed and needlessly nervous about university ministry. When the month came to an end, I cried crocodile tears until I was almost sick. Now I am moving there.

And I can’t help but wonder. . .

What will next October hold?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 05:21:56

    Hmmmm…never would have guessed going into October last year that this year you would be writing about returning and next October you will be writing about the amazing things God is doing through you! Excited for you and what is to come! Love you lots!!!

    Reply

  2. Ms. Patti
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:02:52

    I love how God really does orchestrate our steps. I am so proud of you Pridge! I love what all God has done to you and through you. PRAYING AND LOVE YOUR NEW BLOG PAGE!
    LOVE YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bird Attack

Bird Attack at Starbucks

Fluttering Type

